Government Inspector

Government-InspectorThe news that a government inspector is heading for a small Russian town sends its bureaucrats into a panicked frenzy. A simple case of mistaken identity exposes the hypocrisy and corruption at the heart of the town in this biting modern satire.

Originally written in 1839, Gogol’s comic masterpiece has been described as ‘the greatest play in the Russian language’. Luckily, David Harrower’s sharp modern interpretation does not require a mastery of the original Russian, just impeccable comic timing, very funny dialogue and lots of farcical goings-on.

The Mayor – Christopher Vian-Smith
Khlestakov – Jason Salmon
Anna – Helen Chadney
Maria – Victoria Maytom
Osip – Alex Watts
Bobchinsky – Bob Callender
Dobchinsky – Chris Bennett
Zemlyanika – Chris Stooke
Lyapkin Tyapkin – Peter Medd
Khlopov – James Griffin
Postmistress – Jackie Burch
Police Superintendent – Mark Vinson
Waiter/Shopkeeper – Tom Watts
Policeman – Graham Rice
Mishka – Hannah Taylor
Locksmith’s Wife – Kim Goldsmith
Sergeant’s Widow/Dr Gibner – Lorraine Spenceley